What web hosting requirements?

Everything else that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
HoosierDaddy

What web hosting requirements?

Post by HoosierDaddy »

Hi.

Can someone tell me what web hosting requirements are needed to use spider basic with a web host? Does one need special permissions on a Linux server or change an INI file or anything or can you just compile and upload and it will work if you're using a web host.

Also, how does the database access work with spider basic and SQL lite if the JavaScript code is only running in the browser? I used to be an ASP classic programmer and used it for DB backends and asp for the front end scripts. Just wondering if someone would mind educating me how this works?

Thanks in advance
Tim
plouf

Re: What web hosting requirements?

Post by plouf »

Spiderbasic is client side only

No special requirements in hosting.. all can work

Sql is also client side, modern browsers have sqlite local access api for sites to store small sql files and access them (local in user computer not webserver)
Christos
HoosierDaddy

Post by HoosierDaddy »

Thank you. That wouldn't work for me then because I need to update a database or the same database over and over again from time to time and show the results to the end users.

It's a database hosted at a hosting site, and I was thinking I could use spider to do crud operations.

Thanks so much..
Tim.
dezashibi

Post by dezashibi »

There is a misunderstanding here, you cannot expect any "CRUD" operation by any frontend technology alone, what you need in between is an API, and the fastest way to achieve this is to use databases that provide you edge functions or graphql as a service or anything like that then you can use SpiderBasic and have it working with the API, without api no "Frontend" code can work with the server side entities. hope this helps
bembulak

Post by bembulak »

HoosierDaddy wrote: Fri Nov 25, 2022 7:18 pm