How to publish an app

Just starting out? Need help? Post your questions and find answers here.
loulou2522

How to publish an app

Post by loulou2522 »

I am new with spiderbasic
Can someone explain me how to publish an app on a web site ?
Thanks in advance
munfraid

Re: How to publish an app

Post by munfraid »

That's not difficult.

- Create a destination folder on your computer.
- Export your Web App to your destination folder as described in the manual.
- Make sure to set the checkmark "Copy SpiderBasic libraries"
- Upload the entire content of the destination folder to your web server
- done!

Your web app is now available under https//yourdomain.com/yourfolder/html-filename.
If you specify "index.html" as the "HTML filename", the adress will be simply https//yourdomain.com/yourfolder.
_aNdy_

Post by _aNdy_ »

Help!

I'm teaching my 8 year old Grandson to code using PureBasic and he's come up with a simple game that should 'port' over to SpiderBasic (v2.31) quite easily. I want to do the port for him so the game will run in a web browser and he can show his friends in school.

I'm testing out the export options of SpiderBasic using the examples provided (I'm using the sprite demo) but cannot get the test file to export using 'Create App > Web'. I following the instructions in the manual the best I can and have searched this forum (including looking at the advice in the post above) but no luck!

Checking the 'Copy SpiderBasic libraries' options doesn't copy the libraries.

Providing the Resource directory name gets an error of... 'Resources directory copy failed (file path here)'

What am I doing wrong? Apologies for being stupid!
Paul

Post by Paul »

Easiest way is to export to your PC then upload to Web Server, so create a folder on your C: drive called
C:\Web

From the MenuBar under "Compiler/Create App.." under the "Web" tab...
App Name: MyApp
Icon: favicon.png
HTML filename: C:\Web\index.html
JavaScript filename: MyApp.js