Security concerns, communication with database etc.

Everything else that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
Kurzer

Security concerns, communication with database etc.

Post by Kurzer »

Hello colleagues,

Note: This post was also published in the German PureBasic Forum in the SpiderBasic section.

I'm not very experienced in programming with SpiderBasic, but I'm still planning to do a "medium-small" project with Spider. At the moment I'm still working with the demo version of Spidebasic to see if I can implement all parts of the planned project.

With some topics for the realization of the project I can't judge if my approach is ok or if it could be done better in another way.

What exactly is it about?
It's about a web application that should be protected by a login and that communicates via several PHP modules via HttpRequest() to interact with a database and the filesystem of the webserver.

So I have a program part that runs on the client browser and will be written in Spiderbasic (or after compiling in JavaScript). Here the whole GUI, its logic and the loading, processing and displaying of data is realized.

The other part of the program is on the server and is called by SpiderBasic via HttpRequest(). The parameters are transferred by POST.

With the following points I do not know yet what approach is the best:

1) the topic login and authorization to use the SpiderBasic application at all.

If I would write the web application in pure PHP/HTML, I would program a login screen and store the user's permissions in a session variable after a successful login. When calling other PHP pages that belong to the application, I would read the session variable with the permission level and react accordingly in the PHP script (either continue the script or abort it with a error message if the permission is not sufficient).

But how do I do that within SpiderBasic?