Found an issue in SpiderBasic ? Please report it here !
User avatar
MrTAToad
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 11:43 am
Location: Chichester, England

Geolocation on the PC [Solved]

by MrTAToad Thu Jul 13, 2017 12:15 pm

Does the geolocation set of commands support the PC as well ? The help file does say that a location should be found using an internet connection, but at the moment StartGeolocation fails...

Problem solved : The first call returns invalid values, but subsequent calls are correct!
Peter
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:17 pm

Re: Geolocation on the PC [Solved]

by Peter Thu Jul 13, 2017 12:36 pm

MrTAToad wrote:Does the geolocation set of commands support the PC as well ?


seems so:

Code: Select all
StartGeolocation()

Procedure TimerEvent()
 
  Debug "GeolocationTime: " + GeolocationTime()
  Debug "GeolocationLatitude: " + GeolocationLatitude()
  Debug "GeolocationLongitude: " + GeolocationLongitude()
  Debug "----"
 
EndProcedure

OpenWindow(0, 0, 0, 0, 0, "DummyWindow", #PB_Window_Invisible)

AddWindowTimer(0, 0, 1000)

BindEvent(#PB_Event_Timer, @TimerEvent(), 0, 0)


Of course you have to grant the access in your browser.

Greetings ... Peter
tj1010
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 1:36 pm

Re: Geolocation on the PC [Solved]

by tj1010 Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:37 pm

it's opt-in on every platform and it's not unusual to see it disabled. Compass is actually super-rare even on modern devices. Google maps uses some algorithm with accelerometer for direction when there is no compass chip on devices.

You can check all of this with Cordova libraries. There are also different coordinate format standards.
User avatar
MrTAToad
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 11:43 am
Location: Chichester, England

Re: Geolocation on the PC [Solved]

by MrTAToad Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:04 am

It was the first reading that originally made me think something funny was going on...
Return to Bugs Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest